List of government resignations so far as Boris Johnson fights for survival

List of government resignations so far as Boris Johnson fights for survival


oris Johnson has been hit by a slew of government resignations as dozens of MPs say they have lost confidence in his leadership.

The Prime Minister has lost about a third of the MPs on his payroll in less than 48 hours.

Health Secretary Sajid Javid began the onslaught of resignations. He stepped down just after 6pm on Tuesday, saying he had lost confidence in Mr Johnson’s leadership.

Chancellor Rishi Sunak followed five minutes later, announcing he had “reluctantly come to the decision that we cannot continue like this”.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson – In pictures

The PM sacked Michael Gove from his cabinet post on Wednesday night, while Secretary of State for Wales Simon Hart and Northern Ireland Secretary Brandon Lewis quit on Thursday morning.

On Thursday morning the new Chancellor Nadhim Zahawi, who had been in the post just 36 hours, called on the PM to resign. Minutes later the new Education Secretary Michelle Donelan, appointed on Tuesday night, also quit.

60 MPs have quit their government jobs and called on the PM to resign so far:

Cabinet Ministers

Sajid Javid, Heath Secretary

Rishi Sunak, Chancellor

Simon Hart, Secretary of State for Wales

Brandon Lewis, Northern Ireland Secretary

Michael Gove, Housing Secretary, was sacked after telling the PM to resign

Michelle Donelan, Education Secretary


Will Quince, Children’s Minister

Robin Walker, Education Minister

John Glen, Economic Secretary to the Treasury and City Minister

Victoria Adkins, Home Office Minister

Jo Churchill, Environment Minister

Stuart Andrew, Housing Minister

Kemi Badenoch, Equalities Minister

Alex Burghart, Education Minister

Julia Lopez, Media Minister

Neil O’Brien, Levelling Up Minister

Lee Rowley, Industry Minister

Mims Davies, Employment Minister

Rachel Maclean, Minister for Safeguarding

Mike Freer, Minister for Exports and Minister for Equality

Ed Argar, Minister for Health

Damian Hinds, Security Minister

Helen Whately, Exchequer Secretary to the Treasury

George Freeman, Science Minister

Guy Opperman, Pensions Minister

Chris Philp, Technology Minister

James Cartlidge, Courts’ Minister

Rebecca Pow, Environment Minister

Parliamentary Private Secretary (PPS)

Jonathan Gullis, PPS Northern Ireland

Saqib Bhatti, PPS Health

Nicola Richards, PPS Transport

Virginia Crosbie, Wales PPS

Laura Trott, PPS Transport

Felicity Buchan, PPS Business

Claire Coutinho, PPS Treasury

David Johnston, PPS Education

Selaine Saxby, PPS Treasury

Mark Logan, PPS Northern Ireland

Craig Williams, PPS Treasury

Duncan Baker, PPS Levelling Up

Mark Fletcher, PPS Business

Sara Britcliffe, PPS Education

Ruth Edwards, PPS Scotland

Peter Gibson, Department for International Trade

James Sunderland, PPS Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Jacob Young, PPS for The Ministry of Housing and Local Government

James Daly, PPS for the DWP

Danny Kruger, PPS for Levelling Up

Dr James Davies, PPS Health

Gareth Davies, PPS Health

Rob Butler, PPS Foreign Office

Jack Brereton, PPS International Trade

Trade Envoys

Andrew Murrison, Trade Envoy Morocco

Theo Clarke, Kenya Envoy

David Duguid, Fisheries Envoy

David Mundell, UK Trade Envoy to New Zealand

Richard Graham, trade envoy for SE Asia

Other roles

Alex Chalk, Solicitor General

Bim Afolami, Conservative Party Vice Chair

Luke Hall, deputy chair of the Conservative Party

Caroline Johnson, Conservative Party vice-chair